Arms

Crossed and closed, connected, keeping tight myself,
I hold my arms, imprison heart, refuse to then release,
so self can be protected, armed against all pain, and we
are disconnected; you’ve gone, your arms deceived.

I huddled into your embrace, believed that it was true,
and yet the moments did not last, nothing held, endured,
and so I arm myself against, the pain of love and trust,
this weapon now will keep me safe, for you are surely lost.

http://margoroby.com/2014/02/11/poem-tryouts-to-arms/#respond

About rosross

Editor, writer, poet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Arms

  1. When I read this poem I remembered that feeling. So grateful to have found someone to trust. Once trust is betrayed it is so hard to trust again. I like how you use the arms as an expression of both trust and betrayal.

Leave a Reply

