The maid

 

When you have nine sons

And your husband is dead,

So many years ago

Murdered by bandits,

There is much that you need.

And you are the one

Who must find it.

And so it is for Sao

And it shows,

In her eyes, that

Determination and

Quickness of mind

That has allowed her

And her nine sons,

To survive.

Today she asked for help.

It was money that she wanted,

To buy a house,

For now

She must rent.

But I could not give it to her

And I said so. And I also said,

There are many others

Who work here. Not only you.

There is Rosario

And all of the guards,

There are eight guards

That are rostered here,

On and off,

And everyone has problems;

And everyone needs a house.

I cannot give to you

What I do not give to others.

It all sounded so reasonable,

But, as I walked away

From the glittering of her eyes,

I carried with me, that tear-

Stained grief, and a sense

Of failure that could not be eased.

About rosross

Editor, writer, poet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

