Grief and madness

There is a madness
in my grief –
they say it’s
only natural.
It doesn’t feel
natural –  it feels
frightening.
My mind has
double vision –
perhaps my soul
needs spectacles.
But then I would
see more clearly.
I don’t know if
 I am ready for that.
You see it hurts
 and I did not think
it would hurt so much.
Or did I? I think
I only hoped
it wouldn’t.

82

About rosross

Editor, writer, poet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grief and madness

  1. Casey B says:

    Thank you for sharing this beautiful poem. The pace of it delicately captures the whirring mind that is so often a feature of grief experiences – I know it is in my own. ‘I did not think it would hurt so much/Or did I? I think I only hoped it wouldn’t’ That also captures the sense of grief in an incredibly moving way.

    Take care,

    Casey

Leave a Reply

